top of page


Download an Adobe PDF copy of the 

National Historic Preservation Act (Amended 2014)


The National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA)


Before the passage of National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA) of 1966, laws for historic preservation had been based upon the legislation of the Antiquities Act of 1906, the National Park Service Act of 1916, and the Historic Sites Act of 1935. These reforms or acts were designed to identify and protect America’s historic properties. This set forth the basis for the National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA) adopted by Congress into law.


The term refers to Section 106 of the 1966 National Historic Preservation Act which requires that projects funded by federal loan assistance or grants. Any projects requiring federal permit or license are also subject to the Section 106 review process. Federal agencies are responsible for determining which activities are subject to Section 106 review and provide oversight for the process.


  • NHPA initiated national programs intended to implement the documentation and preservation of Historic Properties. Specifically:

  • NHPA formed the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) and the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) to administer the management of NRHP.  

  • NHPA authorized the creation of the State Historic Preservation Officer (SHPO) within each of the United States.

  • NHPA established a list of National Historic Landmarks.

  • NHPA provides for the Certification of Local Governments for the assistance of local historic preservation.  



bottom of page